Tags

, , , ,

The last time that I blogged was two months ago (Yes, it has been that long). I talked about going lollipop shopping and the importance of making decisions. I also hinted at my own personal tribulations faced in choosing a program after high school. Well, it is hard when sleepless nights are involved (and they were). On one hand there was passion cultivated through most part of my high school years. On the other other hand, there was passion fruit, which I happened to stumble upon during a science fair project. Wait, hold on, back up! What has passion and passion fruit got to do with anything? Well, folks, you are about to find out.

Journalism had been a passion. I loved (and still do) the idea of travelling, socializing with people of diverse backgrounds and getting their stories out there in the public eye. Stories on the good, the bad and the ugly from war zones and developing countries for the most part. Clichéd, I know, but someone’s got to do it. Not that there isn’t the ugly in developed countries, it took me a while to realize that. And thanks to Bikram Vohra, I finally saw that there was more to journalism than just tragedy. Shakespeare does tragedy well enough! Any piece of writing that leads to a substantial or even minuscule amount of change (for good, I hope) is worth being read and written. Aha, that was the bright light-bulb moment.

“Worry not,” Destiny says. “There are more to come.” And passion fruit took u-turn in memory’s lane and came back to haunt me. I won’t prolong this life-turning, momentous event. Let’s get this over and done with. I did a project in high school that could be classified as a part of Neuroscience. I researched whether age affected learning abilities. Unfortunately, I wasn’t the mini-Einstein I was hoping to be. The experiment part went horribly wrong but my teacher was impressed I took the initiative. I loved the whole idea of the brain and the neuronal connections it contains affecting our behaviour, emotions and everything us.

A year gone by and in my pursuit of passion, I forgot Destiny’s warning. As luck would have it, things never work out just perfectly fine. There is not a word like it in the encyclopedia of life. The essence of passion fruit had caught up to me. Did I grab it? Yes, I did. In the battle of the head and the heart, there is never an “or” but always an “and”. I yearned for passion, ended up reminiscing passion fruit and in hopes of tasting it again, left the passion behind. Am I satisfied? Have I ever wished for more? Well, I will leave you to ponder over it on the note that there is a passion right before fruit.

Never fear looking above and beyond, there are always surprises lurking about in corners you least expected.

© Copyright 2013

